This is the "Home" page of the "New Books - May 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books - May 2014  

Click on title for details and availability
Last Updated: May 30, 2014 URL: http://law.willamette.libguides.com/may2014 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

(Arranged by title A-M)

 
  [Third edition] ABA Criminal Justice Section page on this title here
 
 
  
 "Where the fate of a company is on the line in a negotiation, legal and business teams must work seamlessly to reach a successful conclusion. Unfortunately, there's often a gap between lawyers, who are typically untrained in business strategy, and business executives, who lack basic knowledge of contract law and regulations. In Betting the Company: Complex Negotiation Strategies for Law and Business, Andrew Trask and Andrew DeGuire offer a thorough introduction to enable lawyers and business people to understand the theoretical concepts and to apply practical tools to conduct a successful, multi-faceted negotiation. The authors, both of whom have extensive experience conducting high-stakes negotiation, explain the different strategic considerations negotiators face, from the pressures on individuals representing a larger group to the difficulties that arise from clashes of corporate culture. They also discuss the specific challenges raised by negotiations that involve multiple parties, multiple issues, and take place over longer periods of time. Throughout this illuminating book, Trask and DeGuire provide concrete, practical advice on how best to guide companies through the most difficult negotiations."
 
 
KF889 .T73 2013
  

 
"This title covers constitutionalism as envisioning the state, the development of a 'political jurisprudence', transmitting constitutionalism, and much more."
  
 
KNQ2069 .B85 2009
 
 
 
    
 
 
  [Third edition]
 
  
KF526 .M46 2014
   
 
Aspen casebook series, Third edition [on Course Reserve]
 
     
"The corporate governance systems of Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States are often characterized as a single 'Anglo-American' system prioritizing shareholders' interests over those of other corporate stakeholders. Such generalizations, however, obscure substantial differences across the common-law world. Contrary to popular belief, shareholders in the United Kingdom and jurisdictions following its lead are far more powerful and central to the aims of the corporation than are shareholders in the United States. This book presents a new comparative theory to explain this divergence and explores the theory's ramifications for law and public policy. Bruner argues that regulatory structures affecting other stakeholders' interests - notably differing degrees of social welfare protection for employees - have decisively impacted the degree of political opposition to shareholder-centric policies across the common-law world. These dynamics remain powerful forces today, and understanding them will be vital as post-crisis reforms continue to take shape."
  
K1327 .B78 2013
 
 
"In Corporate Sovereignty, Joshua Barkan argues that corporate power should be rethought as a mode of political sovereignty. Situating analysis of U.S., British, and international corporate law alongside careful readings in political and social theory, he demonstrates that the Anglo-American corporation and modern political sovereignty are founded in and bound together through a principle of legally sanctioned immunity from law."
  
  
K1315 .B369 2013
  
    
Series: Laurier studies in political philosophy series
 
Publisher's page for this title here
  
  
K230 .N52 A33 2013
  
   
[Eighth edition]
 
 
KJE949 .F55 2014
  
 
ABA's page for this title here
 
Read excerpt and Natalie Holder-Winfield's blog at Ms. JD.org
   
KF3464 .H63 2014
    
 
OUP's page for this title here
 
Prashant Dubey talks about The Generalist Counsel on YouTube
 
 
KF1425 .D83 2013
 
   
"Despite increasing racial tolerance and national diversity, neighborhood segregation remains a very real problem in cities across America. Scholars, government officials, and the general public have long attempted to understand why segregation persists despite efforts to combat it, traditionally focusing on the issue of 'white flight,' or the idea that white residents will move to other areas if their neighborhood becomes integrated. In this book the author expands upon these understandings by investigating a little-examined but surprisingly prevalent problem of 'move-in violence,' the anti-integration violence directed by white residents at minorities who move into their neighborhoods. Apprehensive about their new neighbors and worried about declining property values, these residents resort to extra-legal violence and intimidation tactics, often using vandalism and verbal harassment to combat what they view as a violation of their territory. This work examines the role violence plays in maintaining housing segregation, illustrating how intimidation and fear are employed to force minorities back into separate neighborhoods and prevent meaningful integration. Drawing on evidence that includes in-depth interviews with ordinary citizens and analysis of Fair Housing Act cases, the author provides an examination of how neighborhood racial violence is enabled today and how it harms not only the victims, but entire communities. By finally shedding light on this disturbing phenomenon, this work not only enhances our understanding of how prevalent segregation and this type of hate-crime remain, but also offers insightful analysis of a complex mix of remedies that can work to address this difficult problem."
 
 
HD7288.76.U5 B45 2013
 
 
Bloomberg BNA's page for this title here
 
  
  
 
"This book offers a comprehensive analysis of the legal issues around intangible cultural heritage (also known as traditional cultural expressions or folklore). It explores both institutional and substantive responses the law offers to the safeguarding of intangible heritage, relying heavily on critiques internal and external to the law. These external critiques primarily come from the disciplines of anthropology and heritage studies. Intangible cultural heritage is safeguarded on three different levels: international, regional, and national. At the international level, the foremost instrument is the specific UNESCO Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage (2003). At the regional level, initiatives are undertaken both in schemes of political and economic integration, a common thread being that intangible cultural heritage helps promote a common identity for the region, becoming thus a desirable aspect of the integration process. Domestically, responses range from strong constitutional forms of protection to rather weak policy initiatives aimed primarily at attracting foreign aid. Intangible heritage can also be safeguarded via substantive law, and, in this respect, the book looks at the potential and pitfalls of human rights law, intellectual property tools, and contractual approaches. It investigates how the law works and ought to work towards protecting communities, defined as those from where intangible cultural heritage stems, and to whom benefits of its exploitation must return. The book takes the critiques from anthropological and heritage studies into account in order to posit a re-shaped law, offering tools that can be valuable to both scholars and practitioners when understanding how to safeguard intangible heritage."
   
  
   
Publisher's page for this title here
 
K3240 .B373 2014
    
  
Series: Emerging legal education [previously: Emerging legal learning]
 
Publisher's page for this title here
  
 
  
"As neuroscientific technologies continue to develop and inform our understanding of the mind, the opportunities for applying neuroscience in legal proceedings have also increased. Cognitive neuroscientists have deepened our understanding of the complex relationship between the mind and the brain by using new techniques such as functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) and electroencephalography (EEG). The inferences drawn from these findings and increasingly sophisticated technologies are being applied to debates and processes in the legal field, from lie detection in criminal trials to critical legal doctrines surrounding the insanity defense or guilt adjudication.
"In Minds, Brains, and Law: The Conceptual Foundations of Law and Neuroscience, Michael S. Pardo and Dennis Patterson assess the philosophical questions that arise when neuroscientific research and technology are applied in the legal system. They examine the arguments favoring the increased use of neuroscience in law, the means for assessing its reliability in legal proceedings, and the integration of neuroscientific research into substantive legal doctrines.
"The authors use their explorations to inform a corrective inquiry into the mistaken inferences and conceptual errors that arise from mismatched concepts, such as the mental disconnect of what constitutes 'lying' on a lie detection test. The empirical, practical, ethical, and conceptual issues that Pardo and Patterson seek to redress will deeply influence how we negotiate and implement the fruits of neuroscience in law and policy in the future."
 
 
K346 .P36 2013
 
   
[Third Edition]
 
"This edition includes expanded material on the techniques for achieving a style that is both clear and legally sound. It also includes new material on the challenges and merits of drafting in plain language, and provides many before-and-after examples to help both practising lawyers and students develop key drafting skills. It takes a genuinely international approach, dealing with the principles for clear, effective legal drafting in all countries where English is the language of law. In doing so, it draws on case law and statutes from countries as diverse as England, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Canada, Ireland, India, Malaysia, Singapore and Hong Kong."
 
 
K94 .B88 2013
 
 
 
Publisher's page for this title here
 
Omri Ben-Shahar discusses his book on YouTube
 
 
KF1609 .B46 2014
 
 

(Arranged by title, N-Z)

Series: Springer series in transitional justice ; v. 8
 
Publisher's page for this title here
 
 
KZ1168.5 .N37 2014
 
  
See LexisNexis's page for this title here
 
 
KF1164 .A662
  
 
Publisher's page for this title here
  
 
K640 .P49 2013
 
  
 
 
KF4783 .F57 2002
   
 
[Sixth edition]
  
  
KF1053 .B76 2014
  
 
 
 
  

 
Publisher's page for this title here
  
Interview with author at Inside Higher Ed
   
  
KF4225 .O43 2013
   
    
Publisher's page for this title here
 
 
  
 
"To do your best work in this field, your mind needs to be in the right place. This means figuring out how to approach the work, being willing to do the work, and keeping an open mind. This powerful new guide provides the guidance you need to prepare you for success as a defense advocate within a team environment. Whether you are a lawyer or an investigator, a team approach to criminal defense work is key, and certain skills and knowledge help to make your team successful. Team Defense in Criminal Cases provides solid information for your team on those topics including both practical advice, and anecdotal explanations. You'll find guidance on doing your best for your clients, leaving no stone unturned and taking good care of yourself and your team so that the work gets done. In addition, the book provides numerous forms and worksheets designed to make your job easier and more productive. If you want to craft a top-notch, efficient defense advocate team, this new book will provide the skills your team needs to become champions of justice." -- Publisher: ABA
 
 
 
 
 
HD1698.J58 R68 2002
   
 
Publisher's page for this title here
 
     
Publisher's page for this title here
 
 
JK339 .Z45 2013
 
 
 
Israeli-Palestinian International Conference on Water for Life in the Middle East (2nd : 2004 : Antalya, Turkey):
 
 
HD1698.J58 I87 2007
 

   

"Learn how to analyze and advise on Stark Law issues. The Physician Self-Referral Law, commonly known as the 'Stark Law', prohibits a physician from referring Medicare patients for certain services defined as designated health services ('DHS'), to an entity with which the physician or an immediate family member of the physician has a direct or indirect 'financial relationship.' What is Stark Law? presents a general overview and discussion of the Stark Law." -- Publisher: ABA Health Law Section
 
 
KF2907.P38 W43 2014
 
  
  Series: Oxford legal philosophy
  
  
K237 .H37 2014
 
  
 
[Second edition]
 
Publisher's page for this title here
 
 
 
 
 

Previous New Books lists

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip